Is the New York Times Subscription Worth It?

I just got the Sunday Delivery option from the New York Times, which includes a digital subscription and the big Sunday paper which includes quite a bit.

Anthony Maiorana
4 min readJan 1, 2018

Subscribe to my newsletter

The Sunday Delivery is about $10/week after the promotion and it includes the Sunday Magazine, Book Review, Travel, Sunday Styles, Sunday Review, and the full Digital Subscription. These are all things that I would enjoy.

From https://www.nytimes.com/subscription/multiproduct/lp8HYKU.html

My usual routine of reading the New York Times is to quickly use up my 10 free articles on both my work laptop (Internet Explorer) and my home computer (Chrome) which is about 20 free articles. Then I use Google News to try and read more (usually allows you to get around paywalls).

This was getting a bit annoying to me plus I felt that I wasn’t reading as much as I should. So in order to understand if $10/week, which translates to $520/year or $5200/10 years (assuming no price raise), is worth the price of my readership I wrote this article.

In order to quantify if this subscription is worth it I’ll attempt to chronicle at least my first few days of readership by posting links to all the stories that I’ve perused, read, skimmed, or just look at the pictures. I’ve felt…

--

--

Anthony Maiorana

Writer of The Polymerist newsletter. Talk to me about chemistry, polymers, plastics, sustainability, climate change, and the future of how we live.